Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (111) posts »

NLBMDA Announces New Leadership Team - Chuck Bankston of Bankston Lumber Elected Chair

Posted By Stephen Kendrick, Thursday, October 25, 2012
Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014
[Washington, DC] - The National Lumber and Building Material Dealers Association (NLBMDA) today announced its new leadership team installed on October 24 at the ProDealer Industry Summit in Savannah, Georgia. At the association's annual meeting, the NLBMDA Board of Directors elected Chuck Bankston, owner of Bankston Lumber in Barnesville, Georgia, as the association's new chair, replacing outgoing chair Cally Coleman Fromme of Zarsky Lumber in Victoria, Texas.

"Since its founding 95 years ago, the NLBMDA has championed the building material industry and brought dealers' voices into the halls of power in Washington, D.C. I am honored to follow in the steps of our past leaders as I take the chairmanship and work to protect our vital job creating industry. I feel very good about our sector and the improving housing conditions our nation is starting to see. Now we must consolidate these gains and prepare the ground work for future growth," said Bankston. "Next month's election will determine what we can do over the next year and we hope to bring about a return to common-sense regulation in banking, labor relations, and tax policy. While we focus on bringing our dealer's voices to Capitol Hill, I will also ensure that we continue to build our education efforts so that our lumber and building material suppliers can make their businesses even better as we continue our build our way toward a better economy in 2013."

As the fourth generation owner and President of Bankston Lumber, Bankston is a longtime leader of the industry at the state and national level. Founded in 1929, Bankston Lumber Company's lumber yard and home center are located alongside their Bankston Truss manufacturing facility in Barnesville, Georgia.

"I am proud to have Chuck step up to chair the NLBMDA. His passion for the industry and our dealers will certainly guide him as he pushes for a pro-business agenda over the next year. Chuck's experience making Bankston Lumber profitable year after year will serve him well as he guides this great association towards its hundredth year. He knows how to make a great organization even better," said NLBMDA President Michael O'Brien. "I also want to recognize Cally Coleman Fromme for the outstanding leadership and commitment she has provided to the association and her perseverance in moving NLBMDA forward as our members have moved out of the housing recession."

In addition to Chuck, the other members of the 2012-2013 NLBMDA Executive Committee are:

-- Chair-Elect: Chris Yenrick, Smith-Phillips Building Supply, Winston-Salem, North Carolina
-- First Vice Chair: J.D. Saunders, Economy Lumber, Campbell, California
-- Second Vice Chair: Scott Yates, Denver Lumber, Denver, Colorado
-- Treasurer: Linda Nussbaum, Kleet Lumber Co., Huntington, New York
-- Manufacturers & Services Council Chair: Roger Dankel, Simpson Strong-Tie, McKinney, Texas
-- Federated Association Executives Chair: Paula Siewert, Northwestern Lumber Association, Minneapolis, Minnesota
-- Immediate Past Chair: Cally Coleman Fromme, Zarsky Lumber, Victoria, Texas
-- President: Michael O'Brien, NLBMDA, Washington, D.C.

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)